• Member since 2019

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies
Hello All,

I am trying to write a trigger to update a parent object field when its child record is added/updated. I am quite new to Salesforce Apex and tried to read a few posts in the forum and still could not get it working. Any thoughts on this is appreciated. Thank you!

Example:
Parent Object: Sales_Event__c
Field to update: Cost_Item_Update__c
Child Object: Sales_Event_Cost_Item__c (Master-Detail(Sales Event))
Sales_Event_ID__c = Sales_Event__r.Id (I’m not too sure if there is proper way to get Sales_Event ID in Sales_Event_Cost_Item__c so I create a new formula field here which I think may not be necessary though..)
Fields to be CONCATENATED: Cost_Items__c and  Quantity__c
So I would like to get below in my Parent Object:
e.g. Sales Event A has 2 Cost items,
Cost_Item_Update__c = “Cost_Item one (Quantity__c), Cost_Item two (Quantity__c)”
But my Cost_Item_Update__c  even can’t get the Cost_Items__c (Cost_Item one, Cost_Item two iteration) right.. I am wondering if I map the objects incorrectly...
trigger TestSalesEventCostItemUpdate on Sales_Event_Cost_Item__c (after insert, after delete, after update) {

list<id> parentIDstoUpdate = new list<id>();
    if(Trigger.isInsert||Trigger.isAfter||Trigger.isDelete ){
            for (Sales_Event_Cost_Item__c co : Trigger.new) {
                parentIDstoUpdate.add(co.Sales_Event__c);       
            } 
    }

map<id,string>  mapParentIdtoString = new Map<ID,String>();
    string str;

for (Sales_Event_Cost_Item__c co: [SELECT Sales_Event_ID__c, Cost_Items__c from Sales_Event_Cost_Item__c WHERE Sales_Event_ID__c =:parentIDstoUpdate ]){
        if(mapParentIdtoString.containsKey(co.Sales_Event_ID__c)){
            str = mapParentIdtoString.get(co.Sales_Event_ID__c);
            str = str + ';' + co.Cost_Items__c;  
            mapParentIdtoString.put(co.Sales_Event_ID__c,str);
        }else{