• Solution/Technical Architect

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies
I have 4 questions on record locking:
  1. Does attaching a file lock the parent record?
  2. I have a Master object record M1 and detail records D1 and D2. When I update D1 and D2, I understand that the M1 gets locked. I have 2 sub questions on it.
    1. I am updating D1 and D2, So the execution order goes through Before update Trigger, actual DML, after update trigger, Workflow field updates etc. So my question is, does M1 get locked from beginning to end till WF field update, or only while the actual update on D1 and D2 into DB (means after BEFORE UPDATE trigger and before AFTER UPDATE trigger)?
    2. Probably related to Q 2.1:  In my AFTER UPDATE trigger context of D1 and D2 update, I wanted to insert one more detail record D3 under the same master M1. Will I get "unable to lock row : M1" error ? 
    3. In my AFTER UPDATE trigger context on child object can I update some field of the master record? 

Guys, I need to open a web based application from Salesforce. I wanted the application to call back to SFDC to get some data. So I was thinking of passing SFDC session ID and server URL as query string parameters to the destination page. Is it safe to expose the Session ID in URL query string parameters? I am curious on whether the query string parameters in the URL be visible over the network even though the end point is an  "https" URL..? Strangely when you right click a code in Eclipse-Force.com-IDE and select "Force.com>>Show in Salesforce web" it automatically opens up SFDC page by passing the session ID in the URL.However I am curious about how secure sending session ID through URL.? Please let me know your thoughts on it.

Thanks,

Krishna

We have a functionality where in a particular catogory of people are given explicit access permission on Accounts which obeys certain eligibility criteria, via Apex sharing.