• 50 Points
  • Member since 2009

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies

Hi all, I'm very new to Apex and this is my first trigger. Thought it was quite simple but I'm getting the following error:

Validation Errors While Saving Record(s)

There were custom validation error(s) encountered while saving the affected record(s). The first validation error encountered was "Apex trigger Task_AfterInsert caused an unexpected exception, contact your administrator: Task_AfterInsert: execution of AfterInsert caused by: System.NullPointerException: Attempt to de-reference a null object: Trigger.Task_AfterInsert: line 18, column 1". 

The code is:

trigger Task_AfterInsert on Task (after insert) {

// find new tasks
    for (Task t : trigger.new) {
        if (t.type=='Email') {
            // update record type
            RecordType rt = [select Id from RecordType where Name = 'Email' and SobjectType = 'Task' limit 1];
            t.RecordType.Id = rt.Id;
        } // end if task needs update
    } // end loop through tasks
}

I'm assuming that no record type is being found but checked and there is a task record type called email. I tried to only run t.RecordType.Id = rt.Id if rt.Id was not null - still the same error. 

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

• April 13, 2012

I need to set up a rule where an email is triggered at 3pm PST today if a case was created before 9am today or tomorrow at 3pm tomorrow if the case was created after 9am.

I've been trying a few things. The latest idea is to use a workflow rule to set the "SLA Deadline" date/time field upon case creation. Here's what I tried:

if(VALUE(MID ( TEXT(CreatedDate), 12, 2)) < 17,
SUBSTITUTE(TEXT(CreatedDate), MID(TEXT(CreatedDate), 12, 2), '23'),
NOW())

(note: NOW() was just a stub I was using until I figured out the first part). The idea was to take the time portion of the field and replace it with 3 pm.