• Developer

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies

Hello All-

I'm trying to write a custom Rest API that a 3rd party vendor will use to update our org.   The problem I'm having is that the XML data being passed doesn't have a root element of "request" and unfortunately I cannot have the 3rd party requester change their request XML payload.

My question is, is there a way to change the name of the root element? 

If not, could anyone point me to another resource that I could use to accomplish this?

Thank you so much for any help you could provide

• October 17, 2015
Hi Everyone,
          I am a newbie to Salesforce Integrations and I am reading a lot of stuff to get hang of how SOAP and REST integrations are done . I have few very basic questions related to patterns , if anyone can help me out with them , that would be great. Please find them given below:

Q1. For an inbound integration, we have 2 options (as per my knowledge). One is to create an apex class and expose it as a web service , so that it can be consumed by external entity (C# or Java platform). This code will be used in whatever DML operations  that are required . Second option is to ask the Java/C# side developers to write their own code and provide their code login access to salesforce by adding the application under remote side settings. How do we choose which approach to take? 

Q2. While making HTTP callouts to external systems , we usedifferent type of encoding like given below:

String authorizationHeader = 'BASIC ' + EncodingUtil.base64Encode(headerValue);
String encodedPropAddress = EncodingUtil.urlEncode(Rec.a__c,'UTF-8');

How do we know which format is to be used when ? As in when to use base64 . Will it be provided to me as a salesforce developer by technicians of external systems (to which callouts are being made)?