• 0 Points
  • Member since 2009

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies

I'm new to packaging and was trying to practice and learn the process using a DE org (org 1). 

I created a managed package which was created as a Beta.  I received a link for installing this package.  I created another DE org (org 2) for the purposes of installing the Beta managed package created from org1.  I then used the link from the email to attempt to install the package.  When prompted for username and password, I used the org 2 credentials.  Next I was prompted for a password ("This package requires a password to install it...").  However, I was never prompted in org 1 to set a password when creating or uploading the package.  I searched the help documentation and found mention of an "Edit Security" button for an existing package, but this button does not appear in org 1.

What am I doing wrong?  Are there any experienced people out there who may be able to help?

thanks,

Steve

Message Edited by sellis360 on 05-19-2009 02:01 PM

We're in development on our native application prior to packaging it for production.  We just requested our first Sandbox org and would like to load it with our current application so we can do internal demos and testing somewhere other than our development org.  How is this best accomplished? 

Some things to consider:

• We probably will want to do this multiple times as development progresses.
  • We may want to move data as well so we don't have to recreate test data.

On a related note, how many sandboxes can an ISV can request/have?  For instance, could we have a multiple test sandboxes, a demo sandbox, a training sandbox, etc.?

Finally, are these questions answered by any currently available documentation via developerforce.com or elsewhere?  I've searched and come up empty.

thanks!

Steve