• 405 Points
  • Member since 2009

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies

Hello, I am working on a test involving the passing of variables. Basically, a user is on a splash page where they input some values in an HTML form, which are then passed to my Apex page to be used as parameters in Java Functions.

I am new to this, so I've created a simple test. I set up a Splash Page where a user uses a dropdown to select the make of a car. Based on their selection, this parameter is passed to my Java-Interacting Apex Page.  So far, I got this part working as the parameter of my HTML form was in my URL:

http://a.salesforce.com/apex/CarSales?carmake=Ford

Now, this is where I"m getting stuck. I want to use my apex Page to send this variable to one of my Apex Classes where it will call a Java Function.

Here is the Apex Code I have from the web interface. carmake represents the variable that was passed from the previous HTML form.

<apex:page controller="Cars">
{!getMake(carmake)}
</apex:page>

Here is my Cars Class

public class Cars
{

String make;

public String getMake(String c)
    {
        if (c == 'Ford')
        {
             make = 'You have selected Ford';
        }

else
        {
             make = 'You have not selected Ford';
        }

return make;
    }
}

However, the variable carmake does not seem to be recognized, as I am getting the error:

Error: Unknown property 'Cars.carmake'

If anyone could provide any insight, I would really appreciate it.

Thank you,

Mike

I want to develop sample applications using REST API and Force.com IDE platform. Is there a sample applicaiton with code available online that does so or how can I do it. I cannot seem to find a full-fledged sample applciaiton that utilizes REST too.

Hi all,